My Favourite VST Plug-in… (and its a free one)

Here we go, something to write about already… and its inspired by a good friend of mine Andy Nathan aka Tang. Recently, Andy featured one of my newest tunes (‘Trump’ feat G.R.E.Ed.S) on his podcast (www.soundcloud.com/tangmusic) as one of his favourite tracks from 2011. I really was honoured to be on this list and feature alongside such artists as Ali Jamieson, Cara Winter and Mikill Pain, to name a few. Andy recently asked me how I made the ‘stuttery’ synths throughout the track and I didn’t really give him the correct answer- for some odd reason (mainly the bubbles in the Cava I was drinking at the time), I gave an almost non-related answer. I am going to correct myself now and briefly explain how I achieved that effect, with ease, using a really cool plug-in… and it’s free.

Glitch VST can be found and downloaded for free at www.illformed.org , and does exactly what it says on the tin- its a glitch plug-in! It processes the audio you send through it and allows you to insert various FX rhythmically, allowing you to create some fantastic and unique sounds. I have used this VST Plug-in on synth parts for years, but as my computer isn’t very powerful, I tend to export the midi parts out of Cubase as audio, once I am happy with the overall synth sound. This free’s up my CPU for further audio processing. When programming the main chord progression for ‘Trump,’ I was using a soft textured pad from the A1 VST Synth found on Cubase. Once the part was exported and re-intergrated into the arrangement as an audio WAV, I added reverb and a bit-crusher initially to give the pad a grittier sound. After I was happy with the grit, I added Glitch VST and mainly used the Gate and Tape Stop effect (as sparsely as I could over a 2 bar loop) along with a little modulation, which instantly created the ‘stutter.’ It was at this point that I started ‘chopping’ small segments out of the WAV to create any gaps and breaks in the music.

Anyone out there that makes music but doesn’t yet have this Plug-in, should get themselves over to www.illformed.org and get it now. Even if you are not into your Glitch type IDM tunes, you will get much use out of this little puppy, I am sure.

Please check out the Tang Podcast (www.soundcloud.com/tangmusic) to hear all of the artists mentioned in this podcast, and more!

20120103-225147.jpg

About martincasemusic1981

I am a a musician, writer, producer and music facilitator.

One response to “My Favourite VST Plug-in… (and its a free one)

  1. i must admit that i have been using Glitch ever since you showed it to me and i think it is a great tool, carrying a fair bit of diversity between the effects and making them as subtle or hard hitting as you so desire means that is not just a one trick pony either

    enjoying the blog so far, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Martin Case Music

